snowfall

IMG_20191116_150905664_HDR

Last week, we had the very first snowfall in Mende this year! I was a little unsure how I would fare this winter since it has been over a year and a half since I’ve experienced a really cold, snowy season. However, because of that, I have made it my mission to make this cozy season cozier than all previous winters! (If you have  recommendations about what keeps you cozy, I am all ears.)

When I’m not making myself a steaming cup of hot chocolate, or curling up under my oversize fuzzy blanket with a book, I am also trying to get out and enjoy the snow!

On Saturday, a teacher at one of the high schools in town invited all the assistants to join her on short hike up to the ruins of a medieval castle. It was nothing short of magical!

After this outing, I promptly went home, made some hot chocolate and burrowed under the covers. Some of the things I have been enjoying so far:

  • burning incense
  • hanging twinkle lights above my bed
  • drinking the aforementioned hot chocolate
  • catching up on books on my kindle including
    •  Madame President: The Extraordinary Journey of Ellen Johnson Sirleaf
    • The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy
    • El Tiempo Entre Costuras

And here are a few of my works-in-progress:

  • finding a way to get frothy steamed milk into my everyday
  • making an at-home London Fog Tea Latte (like the ones at Starbucks)
  • buying the perfect holiday candle

Sending love and coziness from France!

Cozy

Author: karisneufeld

Constantly eating too much and not reading enough.

2 thoughts on “snowfall”

  1. Good Morning, Karis – That’s the time of day here in Clinton. Just had our breakfast and devotions and will take short snooze before getting on with the tasks of the day. We sure enjoy your blogs and pics! Sounds like life continues to expand for you – new territories, new friends, new foods – and now looking forward to the coming of your family in December! Before that, we look forward to a family gathering for Thanksgiving: all four of our children and spouses, five grandkids, brother Butch and Gretchen, sister Jeanette, sister-in-law Marcia, and maybe niece Cathy. There will be lots of food (too much), many, many card games, hopefully some exercise (ha-ha), and the pleasure of being with those we love! The Lord is GOOD! We have so much for which to be Thankful!

    Like

  2. Dear Karis,

    I’m glad to hear you’re staying cozy. As for my recommendations for what keeps me cozy, tea and blankets are my first companions on a cold day. However, I bow to your choice of hot chocolate over tea, which can be enjoyed at all hours for its lack of caffeine.

    I can also pass along some Mongolian wisdom I’ve learned here in Ulaanbaatar. Mongolians prioritize the warmth of the feet — cold feet will make for a cold body and then head. Mongolians also swear by the heat-giving properties of eating meat. Horse meat in particular is eaten during the winter because it is known to grant the highest bodily warmth. I’m sure you can gain at least partial benefit from the kinds of meats available to you in your region, however.

    Stay warm!
    Alec

    Like

Leave a comment