reflections

Here’s the news this week: I have left Chad and will be spending the remainder of my term with MCC in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso.

The backstory is that earlier in February, the MCC regional coordinators came through Chad to assess all of our programs and workers and they felt that my assignment wasn’t quite as beneficial as they had hoped. The projects that I am supposed to be working on don’t have funding yet, and they won’t be starting for another while. Really, there just wasn’t enough work for me. So, they decided to switch me to the country program in Burkina Faso.

Changes like these are never easy, and it has given me plenty to reflect on as I try to transition from my assignment in Chad to a new city, a new country, and a new culture. I appreciate your support, your thoughts and your prayers as I made this leap into the unknown.

It was only a week ago that I landed here in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso so I apologize if this news comes as a shock to any of you. I have only know that this would be happening for a few weeks and to be completely honest, the transition has left my head spinning.

The first week after I was informed by MCC about the move to Burkina Faso was spent packing up my little room in the convent in Gore, saying goodbye to friends and wrapping up my work with colleagues. My SECADEV colleagues were so sweet and threw me a going away party, even on short notice!

The next week, I was in limbo in N’Djamena. Again, I was saying goodbye to my host family and church community, but also figuring out all the paperwork and preparations which needed to be made before I arrived in Burkina.

It didn’t even truly hit me that I was leaving Chad until I was sitting on the plane taking off. And then suddenly, I was touching down in Ouaga! I hadn’t had any time to really process or prepare for the new adventure ahead of me. Thankfully, the team here in Burkina has been incredibly understanding and has afforded me so much grace as I’ve worked to adjust. The climate and language are the same, and there is significant cultural overlap which also helps with the whiplash. But, I’ve taken my sweet time this week reflecting and settling in.

I am happy to report that things have started well and I’m finally feeling like I have at least a semblance of a daily routine. Let that reassure you, even if I haven’t been great about keeping in touch just now.

Author: karisneufeld

Constantly eating too much and not reading enough.

Leave a comment